Radical Dance Faction – Borderline Cases LP

Artist: Radical Dance Faction
Title: Borderline Cases
Source: Vinyl 12″ LP
Format: FLAC
Running time (h:m:s): 00:46:40
Size (mb): 296
Label: Earth Zone Records (defunct)
Year: 1990

RDF could regularly be found in a field during the free festival heydays of the 80’s and 90’s, dishing out their pared-back bass-heavy ambient dub sounds that were the perfect foil to vocalist Chris Bowsher’s poetical drone-like delivery (and I mean that in a good way). The lyrics are abstract without being meaningless, reflecting the world at the time as seen through jaded but hopeful eyes. A perfect example on this album is the track ‘Hot On The Wire’, where Bowsher recounts his experiences as a witness to the Hungerford massacre, when a lone gunman went on a killing spree in the quiet Berkshire market town, with haunting honesty. Bowsher’s rumoured taste for opiates were possibly influential on the style but the lyrics are not junkie stoner meanderings, more a personal attempt to capture and convey the zeitgeist running through the underground.

RDF have been back in occasional action over the last couple of years, and have a new album due out some time this month if all goes to plan. Until then, you could do worse than to grab this classic. At first the whole thing may strike you as depressing but give it time and I think you’ll ‘get it’ as much as I do. And if you don’t, well, that’s fine too.

OP’s opinion: Four half

Click here to request the download link.

If you are the copyright owner and want us to take down your music, just click here and let us know. We’re really not trying to piss anyone off, we just want to share rare and out-of-print music with people who want to hear it.

VA – Who? What? Why? When? Where?

Artist : Various Artists
Album : Who? What? Why? When? Where?
Label : Mortarhate Records
Catalog# : MORT 4
Source : Vinyl
Year : March 1984
Genre : Anarcho Punk
Codec : FLAC
ID3-Tag : ID3v2.3

Track Listing
1. Cruise… [Conflict] (1:55)
2. It’ll Be Alright On The Night [Anthrax] (2:11)
3. It’s Our World Too [Karma Sutra] (2:10)
4. Untitled [Moet The Poet] (3:38)
5. Capital City [Sub Squad] (2:04)
6. Hey You [Chaos] (1:35)
7. Mankind Murders [Stigma] (1:41)
8. Remote Control [Toxic Shock] (3:59)
9. It’s No Crime [Vex] (3:04)
10. Operation Successful [Exit-Stance] (1:47)
11. The Offending Article [Poison Girls] (4:33)
12. New Winter [Know The Drill] (3:55)
13. The Youth Are To Blame [Death Zone] (2:01)
14. The Wait [Lost Cherrees] (2:32)
15. Private 999 [Sixteen Guns] (2:03)
16. Stupid [Icons Of Filth] (3:17)
17. Animal Crimes [The Mad Are Sane] (3:46)
18. For The Ferrymen [Hagar The Womb] (2:15)

Here’s another compilation I’ve recently recorded from the original vinyl.

This collection of anarchist and “human rights” punk bands from the UK is a strong, varied, and provocative selection, one that should be of major interest to hardcore aficionados. It’s somewhat uneven, as are most samplers, but the brilliant track by Conflict stands out, and is almost matched by those of some surprising new groups (text from Kill From The Heart).

Download Who What Why When Where (from Mediafire)
Download Who What Why When Where (from Megaupload)
Download Who What Why When Where (Torrent file)
Note: The mediafire/megaupload links are mp3 files at 256kbps. The torrent file is for the FLAC version.