VA – JD Twitch’s 60 Minutes Of Fear CD

Artist: Various mixed by JD Twitch
Title: 60 Minutes Of Fear
Source: CD
Format: FLAC
Running time (h:m:s): 01:04:53
Size (mb): 429
Cat. No: RVNGMX6
Year: 2008

1. (00:00:31) Bombastic Intro – Big Black
2. (00:02:37) Zounds – Can’t Cheat Karma
3. (00:03:12) Crass – Bata Motel
4. (00:02:26) Savage Republic – Viva Le Rock N’ Roll
5. (00:02:41) Butthole Surfers – Mexican Caravan
6. (00:02:46) Flipper – Ever
7. (00:02:54) The Ex – Ay Carmela
8. (00:04:01) Sun City Girls – CIA Man
9. (00:02:49) The Mob – Witch Hunt
10. (00:04:33) Swans – A Screw (Holy Money)
11. (00:03:09) Sonic Youth – Brother James
12. (00:03:10) The Pop Group – She Is Beyond Good And Evil
13. (00:01:38) Minutemen – This Ain’t No Picnic
14. (00:03:24) Husker Du – Don’t Want To Know If You Are Lonely
15. (00:03:04) Big Black – Jordan Minnesota
16. (00:02:43) World Domination Enterprises – Asbestos, Lead, Asbestos
17. (00:03:17) Black Flag – Slip It In
18. (00:02:53) Flux Of Pink Indians – Tube Disasters
19. (00:02:55) Rentals – New York
20. (00:03:38) Screamers – 122 Hours Of Fear
21. (00:03:08) Fatal Microbes – Violence Grows
22. (00:03:25) Poison Girls – State Control And Rock N’ Roll

OK, here’s something a bit different to whet your aural appetites. JD Twitch is a DJ, remixer, producer and other various music-related -ers who’s based in Jockland but seen at venues all over the place. A couple of years ago he contacted a few of the old anarcho bands and Honey Bane for permission to do a bit of work on some of the tunes from the CRASS era. The end result was a 10″ entitled ’10 Inches Of Fear’, with his take on Tube Disasters, Guilty, War and Witch Hunt. It’s a sweet release, and even the HB track is bearable.

You can still buy the 10″ from RVNG INTL (, the label behind the release, and hear samples from the four tunes mentioned. I’ll get around to ripping it sometime, as me and my wallet know it’s fucking expensive to buy it from the States (no UK distros have any copies left) and I reckon this is one of those occasions when it’s justified to rip an in-print release.

What follows is a rip of the free CD that comes with the big piece of plastic. From what I can work out, this is unlicensed and is marked ‘Promotional Purposes – Pay No More than 0p’ so it’s also fair game. It’s a mix of punk-related tunes (including some of the above) that chart JD’s early punk history. On the nice 20″x20″ fold-out poster that encases the CD, he states that there were a couple of good reasons for doing this:

The idea behind it is twofold. Firstly I thought that there might be some people out there who know nothing about this music and might stumble across this and find that they really like it. Secondly, there are probably a load of people out there who used to dig this stuff but are now deep into cosmic disco or somesuch and this might remind them how great and eminently listenable this music still is.

I still “dig this stuff” and, although it’s not the perfect mix for my particular tastes, it’s not bad either. The sentiment seems genuine and I can’t really disagree with it. So give it a whirl and admire the fact that someone else has done the hard work of putting the whole thing together for you to dance and drink to.

OP’s opinion: Three half

Click here to request the download link.

If you are the copyright owner and want us to take down your music, just click here and let us know. We’re really not trying to piss anyone off, we just want to share rare and out-of-print music with people who want to hear it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *